The Little Things

I didn’t always feel I had the ability to inspire people. I mean, why would I have that ability? Putting me first is certainly one of my characteristics, and selfish people shouldn’t be born with the ability of inspiring others (how ironic would that be?). However, as I grew up, I started discovering that I kinda liked it, having the possibility of being an inspiration, I mean, of course.

I remember all the lost souls I met back when I had my first blog. I began writing when I was one of them. But when you realise that you’re not the only depressed person in the world, you stop feeling so apocalyptically sad. And you may or may not come to the conclusion that all your dark, devastating words have helped someone who was having the worst day. From that moment on, you only have one path to choose and one path only, that’s it continuing on feeling miserable in order to show the lost souls that they are not alone, until they move on too, until they all move on together. (Wait. If you’ve done that, it means you’re not as selfish as you think you are. I guess I’m not, then.)

So, I had friends who were extremely fond of warning me about all the bad things that were going to happen if I continued to staying focus on that old unrequited love. I never listened to them. Neither did I listen to those who were in desperate need of sharing the benefits of a healthy, alcohol-free lifestyle.  I believe that the greatest life lessons are the ones who learn on our own.

Now that I was released from all that attached me to the past, and after wondering, moon after moon and sun after sun, why on earth I had to go through all that distress if I was going to end up “empty-handed”, I realised that I’ve learned a thing or two, especially that everything that happens to us is meant to happen to us, good or evil. Not learning anything is the only way of saying that you ended up empty-handed, and actually being unfortunately right.

(I thought I had only one cigarette left. Now I realised that I have two. The little things… there’s nothing bigger.)

Leave a comment